Physics seems pretty entertained by me sometimes.

___________________________________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________________________________

ADVERTISEMENT: You may continue reading about my mundane life after viewing this much more important message:

Shoreline of the Universe
Alright. Carry on.
___________________________________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________________________________

The Boring Stuff

I got called “brave” again today, except this time it was sarcastic instead of sexist.
But then I did the stuff right that I got called on to answer. I’m told the girl who was asked the same question two years ago had no clue what was going on.

I’ve had a hard time feeling motivated this semester. It sucks feeling stupid at everything. Turns out, though, that all the professors tell you to start the homework right away, that very same day, immediately, for a reason. It’s because, if you don’t practice that something new that you learn, then your fleeting knowledge of it only gets progressively stupider until the next class period, when you get to show off in front of everyone just how much stupider you’ve gotten when you’re put on the spot to answer questions and then have no choice but to sit there with your thumb up your ass and hope Dr. Jacobs is nice enough to walk you through it without making you feel too badly about it.

Anyway, on Monday I started the homework immediately and made a decent amount of progress, on my own without help. As it happens, feeling competent can make just about anything enjoyable. Even banging your head against a wall for hours until something gives in either way. So I think what I’m going to do is, I’m going to spend all of my time banging my head against these electronics problems forever until I beat them into submission with my thick skull.

There’s someone I need to do better than in class anyway.

Or perhaps I will print off copies of some of our circuit schematics and use them as target practice for my throwing knives. Or I will go at them with a baseball bat. Remember, something will always give in.

… Or all of the above.

 

The Fun Stuff

Here. Something fun to learn about. Dispersion of Sound Waves in Ice Sheets. Read the description before you listen to the audio file. And then love the audio file, which is also available for download.

This is the IFLScience article from which I stole that idea, with the appropriate part of the video posted below.

~ by Ashley on October 30, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
